About Me

“Where are you from?”

“What do you like to do?”

“Tell me about yourself!”

I never know how to answer these questions! “Where are you from,” especially, is the eternal struggle. I was born in Pune, India but my family moved to Bangalore (also India) when I was a year old, followed by Boston, Pune (again!) and Cary, NC. I’ve spent approximately the same amount of time in each city and they all have a special place in my heart. I have absolutely no idea where I’m from. I like to say I’m a global citizen, as cliche as that sounds.

As for what I like to do, I’m not entirely sure! Schoolwork has always been such a big part of my life that I rarely have time to do other things. That being said, I love swimming (my favorite form of exercise! minimal hand-eye coordination!), reading for fun (not school stuff), discovering new TV shows and music. Since this blog now exists, I’ll probably take the opportunity to talk about my thoughts on these topics often.

Tell me about yourself?! What should I include? Well here’s everything that makes me sound focused and sophisticated; I’m a 21-year-old PR major at UNC Chapel Hill. I’m passionate about women’s empowerment, music, the defense of the environment (or lack thereof). My family and friends are the most important aspects of my life and I hold loyalty a value above any other. After graduation, my dream would be to work at a non-profit that focuses on women’s education in developing countries. My experiences growing up both in India and the US opened my eyes to the different dimensions of poverty and what women, especially, lack in opportunities. My aim is to devote my career to changing that.

Here is said 21-year-old PR major trying (and failing) to be a smoldering Pink Lady last Halloween